Exemptions

It is important to note that under the provisions of the Cities and Towns Act (CQLR, c. C-19), the City of Brossard cannot be held liable for damages suffered in certain situations, including those described below.

Accidents on Sidewalks, Roads and Streets

Under Article 585 (7) of the Cities and Towns Act (CQLR, c. C-19), no municipality may be held liable for any damage resulting from an accident that a person suffers on the sidewalk, road or street due to snow or ice, unless the claimant establishes that said accident was caused by the negligence or fault of the municipality, with the court having to take into account the weather conditions.

Damages Caused by Sewer Back-Flow

Under Article 585 (8) of the Cities and Towns Act (CQLR, c. C-19), no right of action shall lie against the municipality for damages caused by back-flow from a sewer to articles, merchandise or effects kept for any purpose whatsoever in a cellar or basement, if the claimant has already received compensation from the municipality for similar damages caused at the same place and has not subsequently installed there, at least 30 cm from the floor and at a distance at least 30 cm from the exterior walls, a support on which such articles, merchandise or effects must be kept. 

Damages on Public Roads


Under Article 604.1 of the Cities and Towns Act (CQLR, c. C-19), the municipality is not liable for any damage caused by the presence of an object on the road, regardless or whether or not the object comes from a motor vehicle or is projected by a motor vehicle. It is also not liable for any damage caused by the state of the road to the tires or suspension system of a motor vehicle.
 
Under Article 604.2 of the Cities and Towns Act (CQLR, c. C-19), the municipality is not liable for damage resulting from the absence of a fence between the right of way of a street or road and contiguous land.
 
Under Article 604.3 of the Cities and Towns Act (CQLR, c. C-19), the municipality is not liable for damage caused due to the fault of a builder or contractor to whom building, rebuilding or maintenance work has been entrusted, for the entire duration of such work.
 
For additional information about processing claims, please don’t hesitate to contact the Direction des Services juridiques (Services du contentieux) by phone at 450-923-6311 or by email. To learn more about your rights and recourses, we recommend that you consult a lawyer.

Exonération

Exonération

Il est important de noter qu’en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur les cités et villes (RLRQ, c. C-19), la Ville de Brossard ne peut être tenue responsable des dommages subis, entre autres, dans les situations décrites ci-dessous.

Accident sur les trottoirs, les rues et les chemins

En vertu de l’article 585 (7) de la Loi sur les cités et villes (RLRQ, c. C-19), aucune municipalité ne peut être tenue responsable du préjudice résultant d'un accident dont une personne est victime, sur les trottoirs, rues ou chemins, en raison de la neige ou de la glace, à moins que le réclamant n'établisse que l’accident a été causé par négligence ou faute de la municipalité, le tribunal devant tenir compte des conditions climatiques.

Dommages causés par le refoulement d’égouts

En vertu de l’article 585 (8) de la Loi sur les cités et villes (RLRQ, c. C-19), aucun droit d'action n'existe contre la municipalité pour dommages causés par le refoulement d'un égout à des articles, marchandises ou effets conservés pour quelque fin que ce soit dans une cave ou un sous-sol, si le réclamant a déjà reçu une compensation de la municipalité pour des dommages semblables causés au même endroit et n'y a subséquemment installé, à au moins 30 cm du plancher et à une distance d'au moins 30 cm des murs extérieurs, un support sur lequel doivent être conservés ces articles, marchandises ou effets.


Dommages en matière de voirie

En vertu de l’article 604.1 de la Loi sur les cités et villes (RLRQ,  c. C-19), la municipalité n'est pas responsable du préjudice causé par la présence d'un objet sur la chaussée, que cet objet provienne ou non d'un véhicule automobile ou qu'il soit projeté par celui-ci. Elle n'est pas non plus responsable des dommages causés par l'état de la chaussée aux pneus ou au système de suspension d'un véhicule automobile.

En vertu de l’article 604.2 de la Loi sur les cités et villes (RLRQ,  c. C-19), la municipalité n'est pas responsable du préjudice résultant de l'absence de clôture entre l'emprise d'une rue ou d'une route et un terrain contigu.

En vertu de l’article 604.3 de la Loi sur les cités et villes (RLRQ,  c. C-19), la municipalité n'est pas responsable, pendant toute la durée des travaux, du préjudice causé par la faute d'un constructeur ou d'un entrepreneur à qui des travaux de construction, de réfection ou d'entretien ont été confiés.

Pour tout renseignement supplémentaire relatif au traitement des réclamations, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec la Direction des Services juridiques (Services du contentieux) par téléphone, au 450 923-6311, ou par courriel.

Pour des renseignements additionnels concernant vos droits et recours, nous vous invitons à consulter un avocat.