What is an Emerald Ash Borer?

 Larva of the emerald ash borer (David Cappaert, Michigan State University)

Origin and Description of the Emerald Ash Borer

The emerald ash borer (EAB) is a small beetle, measuring 8.5 to 13.5 mm long by 3 mm wide. It has a metallic green-blue colour with iridescent highlights. This insect, native to Asia, is thought to have been transported to North America in infested wood or wooden pallets.

he adult feeds on ash leaves and lays its eggs under the tree's bark. The segmented white larvae feed on the cambium, the layer under the bark, and form trenches (galleries) which prevent nutrient circulation, causing the death of the tree. Once mature, the larvae metamorphose into adult borers who initiate the next egg-laying cycle.

The adult insect can be observed in the months of June through August, during which it emerges and reproduces.
 

Impact of the Emerald Ash Borer

This insect feeds exclusively on ash trees of the genus fraxinus in any of its varieties. In general, an infested tree dies in two or three years, as the larvae and their descendants feed on it year after year. It is important to know that the insect can be present in the tree for several years before the first visible signs of infestation appear.

Since 2002, this pest has killed more than 20 million ash trees in North America. This tree occupies an important place in Quebec's unspoiled environments and its cities. Strong yet flexible, its wood is used to manufacture many sturdy objects including furniture and floors, which gives it a significant economic value. Thus, the presence of this beetle represents a real threat to the environment and the economy if no action is taken to curb its spread.
 

How is it spread?

The emerald ash borer propagates in two ways:
  • The first is natural and of little concern, because the EAB only moves when it lacks food. It typically flies 10-12 metres on average. However, it is apparently capable of flying up to 10 kilometers in search of food. 
  • The second way is through human activity, including the transport of wood products and waste from felling trees infested by the insect. The latter is the main reason for the rapid dispersion of the emerald ash borer.

Description de l'agrile du frêne

 Larve de l’agrile (David Cappaert, Michigan State university)

Origine et description de l'agrile du frêne

L’agrile du frêne est un coléoptère de petite taille, mesurant entre 8,5 et 13,5 mm de long pour 3 mm de large. Il est de couleur vert-bleu métallique avec des reflets irisés. Cet insecte, originaire d’Asie, est arrivé en Amérique du Nord via le transport de bois ou de palettes infestées.

L'adulte se nourrit de feuilles de frênes et pond ses œufs sous l'écorce de ces derniers. Les larves blanches segmentées se nourrissent du cambium, sous l’écorce, et forment des galeries qui empêchent la circulation des éléments nutritifs, causant la mort de l'arbre. Une fois mature, la larve se métamorphose en agrile adulte qui reprend le cycle de ponte.

L’insecte adulte peut être aperçu du mois de juin à août, période durant laquelle il émerge et se reproduit.
 

Impact de l'agrile

L’agrile se nourrit exclusivement du frêne (genre Fraxinus) et de ses essences. En général, un arbre infesté meurt après deux ou trois ans, car les larves et leur descendance s'en nourrissent d’année en année. Il importe de mentionner que l’insecte peut être présent dans l’arbre pendant plusieurs années avant que les premiers signes visibles d’infestation apparaissent.

Depuis 2002, il a causé la mort de plus de 20 millions de frênes en Amérique du Nord. Cet arbre détient une place importante dans les milieux naturels et dans les villes du Québec. Solide et souple, son bois est utilisé pour fabriquer de nombreux objets résistants, dont des meubles et les planchers, ce qui lui confère une valeur économique significative. La présence de ce coléoptère représente donc une réelle menace pour l’environnement et l’économie si aucune mesure n’est prise pour freiner sa propagation.
 

Comment se propage-t-il ?

L’agrile du frêne se propage de deux façons :
  • La première est naturelle et peu inquiétante, car l’agrile se déplace uniquement lorsqu’il manque de nourriture. Il fait habituellement des vols de 10-12 mètres en moyenne. Toutefois, il semblerait qu’il puisse voler pendant une dizaine de kilomètres pour trouver une source de nourriture. 
  • La seconde est due à l’activité humaine,  notamment par le transport de produits du bois et résidus de coupe d’arbres infestés par l’insecte. Ceci est la raison principale qui explique la dissémination rapide de l’agrile.