Regulated Area

Since May 2013, Brossard has been part of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA)'s.emerald ash borer regulated area.

 The CFIA defines this area as follows:

"The CFIA establishes regulated areas to maintain and enforce restrictions against moving potentially infested wood items from areas where the emerald ash borer (EAB) has been found. This is necessary for the following reasons: to slow the spread of the insect, to protect the health of Canada's trees and forests, and to prevent economic losses to the nursery, lumber and tourism industries and to municipalities.”

You can view regulated areas of Canada by clicking on the following link: Regulated Areas in Canada.

Materials covered by the restrictions include any materials from ash trees, as well as raw wood and firewood from any variety of ash. Vehicles which have transported these materials are also subject to these regulations.

Can we be fined if we move the wood?
Yes, you can be fined if you move the wood outside the regulated area. The fine could be up to $15,000 if there is a contravention of the Plant Protection Act (PPV). These penalties apply to both individuals and businesses.

In the event of a second occurrence, the Act provides for penalties of up to $250,000 and 2 years in prison.

Zone réglementée

Depuis mai 2013, Brossard fait partie la région réglementée à l’égard de l’agrile du frêne par l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA).

L’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) la définit comme tel :

« L'ACIA établie des zones réglementées afin de mettre en œuvre et d'appliquer des mesures qui restreignent le déplacement de produits ligneux pouvant être infestés hors des lieux où l'agrile du frêne a été repéré. Ces mesures sont nécessaires pour les raisons suivantes : ralentir la propagation de l'insecte, préserver la santé des arbres et des forêts du Canada; et éviter que les industries des pépinières, du bois d'œuvre et du tourisme, ainsi que les municipalités subissent des pertes d'ordre économique. »

Vous trouverez les zones réglementées canadiennes en cliquant sur le lien suivant : zones réglementées canadiennes.

Les matières visées par les restrictions sont toutes issues du frêne, ainsi que le bois brut et de chauffage de toutes les essences. Les véhicules ayant transporté ces matières sont également ciblés par cette réglementation.


Peut-on recevoir une amende si l’on déplace du bois ?

Oui, il est possible de recevoir une amende si vous déplacez le bois en dehors de la zone réglementée. Cette amende pourrait aller jusqu’à 15 000 $ si l’on contrevient à la Loi sur la protection des végétaux (LPV). Ces pénalités sont valables autant pour les particuliers que pour les entreprises.

En cas de récidive, la loi prévoit des sanctions pouvant aller jusqu’à 250 000 $ et 2 ans d’emprisonnement.