Combat through Prevention

To prevent problems linked to the emerald ash borer (EAB), there are other ways than destroying trees to fight the proliferation of the insect.
  • TreeAzin: TreeAzin is a pesticide, produced from an extract of the seeds of the neem tree, used as a preventive to counter EAB infestations. Note that this pesticide should be applied by a licensed professional. For more information and a list of approved professionals, please click the following link: Link to the Treatment tab
  • Biological control: There exist biological control agents for the EAB, including two species of parasitic Asian wasps and an entomopathogenic fungus (Beauveria bassiana). If the results obtained are conclusive, these control methods could be generalized to the rest of the country and contain the spread of the EAB or even eradicate it. 
  • Avoid moving ash tree residues:  
To prevent the spread of the insect, you must first of all pay particular attention to the handling and use of wood residues from trimming or felling the trees. Remember that Brossard is located in the CFIA regulated area for the emerald ash borer, meaning that it is prohibited to transport green waste and tree trimmings outside the Agglomeration.

To limit the movement of these materials, it is therefore recommended to:
  • Buy firewood locally;
  • Get rid of potentially infested wood materials in a safe and responsible manner in compliance with the CFIA's instructions;
  • Be vigilant and promptly report any signs of new infestations observed on ash trees.

Moyens de lutte préventive

Pour prévenir la problématique liée à l’agrile du frêne, certains moyens, outre que l’abattage, existent afin de lutter contre la prolifération de cet insecte.
  • TreeAzin : le TreeAzin est un pesticide, produit à partir d'extraits de graines de Neem, utilisé de façon préventive pour contrer les infestations par l’agrile. Notez que ce pesticide doit être appliqué par un professionnel agréé. Pour obtenir plus d’information ainsi qu’une liste des applicateurs agréés, veuillez cliquer sur l'onglet Traitement.  
  • Lutte biologique : il existe des agents de lutte biologique contre l’agile du frêne, tels que deux espèces de guêpes chinoises et un champignon entomopathogène (Beauveria bassiana). Si les résultats obtenus s’avèrent concluant, ces pratiques pourraient être généralisées au reste du pays et contenir la dissémination de l’agrile à défaut de l’éradiquer.
  • Éviter le déplacement des résidus de frênes. Pour contrer la prolifération de cet insecte, il faut tout d’abord porter une attention particulière à l’utilisation que l’on fait du bois provenant des résidus de coupe d’arbres. Rappelons que Brossard est situé dans la zone réglementée définie par l’ACIA pour l’agrile du frêne, signifiant qu’il est interdit de transporter des résidus verts et de coupe d’arbres hors de l’agglomération.
Dans le but de limiter le déplacement des résidus de  frênes, il est recommandé :
  • ​d’acheter le bois de chauffage localement;
  • de se départir des matières ligneuses potentiellement infestées de façon responsable et sécuritaire en respectant les consignes de l’ACIA
  • d’être vigilant et de signaler rapidement tous signes d’infestations observés sur un frêne, lorsqu’il s’agit de nouvelle infestation.