Réseau électrique métropolitain (REM) Project

Source CDPQ Infra
rem1.png
The Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, through its CDPQ Infra subsidiary, is undertaking the creation of a new autonomous regional light rail network: the “Réseau électrique métropolitain” or REM. The REM will extend over 67 km and provide 27 stations, of which 13 will have bus stations or platforms and 15 will have commuter parking lots.

The REM will link the South Shore, downtown Montréal, the West Island (Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue), the North Shore (Deux-Montagnes) and the Montréal-Trudeau airport. The network will interconnect with the

Montreal Métro's blue line (Édouard-Montpetit station), green line (McGill station) and orange line (Bonaventure station

The REM in Brossard

On the South Shore, from the new Champlain Bridge, the REM trains will run along the central median of Highway 10, at ground level until reaching Highway 30. After passing the A-10/A-30 interchange, the route will cross Highway 10 Eastbound via an overpass to reach the Rive-Sud terminal station located in the south quadrant of the interchange.

The South Shore line will replace the currently overloaded bus service with a new high frequency service. The REM will operate 20 hours/day, 7 days/week. On the South Shore, the REM will come every2 and a half minutes at rush hours and every 5 minutes in off peak periods.

Three stations

Three REM stations with bus connections will be built in the next few years in Brossard:
  • The Panama station will be located on the site of the current Panama bus terminal. This station will be equipped with a bus terminal as well as a 700 space parking lot. Travel time to downtown Montréal will be less than 10 minutes.
  • Du Quartier station will be located along the centre of Highway 10, at the future Du Quartier overpass. This station, from which you will travel downtown in about 13 minutes, will be accessible via a pedestrian bridge to be built above Highway10.
  • The Rive-Sud terminal station will be located at the intersction of Highways 10 and 30 (southern or “south-west” quadrant ). The travel time to downtown Montréal from this station will be less than 15 minutes. The station will include a bus terminal and a 3,000 space parking lot.
Enclosed and comfortable, the station buildings be designed for universal access, improving travel options for persons with reduced mobility.

Construction

Construction of the REM will begin by the end of 2017 and the first REM trains are scheduled to enter service in 2020. The detailed South Shore work schedules are still to be determined.

Communications and Community Relations 

CDPQ infra, in concert with the municipality, will maintain active, regular and transparent communications with Brossard residents throughout the various project phases. To do this, CDPQ Infra will put in place an Office of Communications and Community Relations, whose mandate will be to manage all communications with residents, merchants and organizations concerned by the construction of the REM.

Stay informed

CDPQ Infra already held two open house evenings about the proposed REM in Brossard in 2016. Other events will follow. To stay informed about the project and coming initiatives, visit www.cdpqinfra.com, subscribe to the REM Express newsletter, and follow the CDPQ Infra Facebook page and Twitter feed. To contact the project promoter directly, write to questions@cdpqinfra.com or call 514 847-2833.

Réseau électrique métropolitain

CDPQ Infra
rem1.png

La Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, par le biais de sa filiale CDPQ Infra, entreprend la réalisation d’un nouveau projet intégré de métro léger automatique : le Réseau électrique métropolitain (REM). Le REM s’étendra sur 67 km sur lesquels on retrouvera 27 stations, dont 13 avec terminus ou quais d’autobus et 15 stationnements incitatifs.

Le REM permettra de relier la Rive-Sud, le centre-ville de Montréal, l’Ouest de l’Île (Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue), la Rive-Nord (Deux-Montagnes) et l’aéroport Montréal-Trudeau. Le réseau sera connecté aux lignes bleue (Édouard-Montpetit), verte (McGill) et orange (Bonaventure) du métro de Montréal.

Le REM à Brossard

Sur la Rive-Sud, à la sortie du pont Champlain, le tracé du REM s’implantera dans le terre-plein central de l’autoroute 10, au niveau du sol, jusqu’à l’autoroute 30. Une fois l’échangeur A-10/A-30 franchi, le tracé traversera les voies de circulation de l’autoroute 10, direction est, via un passage supérieur pour rejoindre la station terminale Rive-Sud située dans le quadrant Sud de l’échangeur.

L’antenne de la Rive-Sud permettra de remplacer le service par autobus, actuellement saturé, par un nouveau mode à haute fréquence. Le REM sera en opération 20 h par jour, 7 jours sur 7. Sur la Rive-Sud, il y aura un passage du REM toutes les 2 minutes 30 en heure de pointe et toutes les 5 minutes en période hors pointe.

Trois stations

Trois stations du REM connectées au réseau d’autobus seront construites dans les prochaines années à Brossard :
  • La station Panama sera située sur le site du terminus d’autobus Panama. Cette station, qui permettra de rejoindre le centre-ville de Montréal en moins de 10 minutes, sera équipée d’un terminus d’autobus ainsi que d’un stationnement incitatif de 700 places.​
  • La station Du Quartier sera située au centre de l’A10, à la hauteur du futur viaduc du Quartier. Cette station, qui permettra de rejoindre le centre-ville de Montréal en environ 13 minutes, sera rendue accessible par une passerelle piétonne qui sera construite au-dessus de l’A10.
  • La station terminale Rive-Sud sera située à l’angle des autoroutes 10 et 30 (quadrant sud-ouest). Cette station, qui permettra de rejoindre le centre-ville de Montréal en environ 15 minutes, sera équipée d’un terminus d’autobus ainsi que d’un stationnement incitatif de 3000 places.
Fermés et tempérés, les bâtiments des stations respecteront les principes de l’accès universel, facilitant ainsi les déplacements des personnes à mobilité réduite.

Construction

Les travaux de construction du projet débuteront d’ici la fin de l’année 2017 et la mise en service des premières rames de train du REM est prévue en 2020. L’échéancier détaillé des travaux sur la Rive-Sud n’est pas encore connu.


Communications et relations avec la communauté

CDPQ Infra, de concert avec la municipalité, maintiendra une communication active, régulière et transparente avec les Brossardois tout au long des différentes étapes du projet. Pour ce faire, CDPQ Infra mettra en place un bureau des communications et des relations avec la communauté, dont le mandat sera de gérer l’ensemble des communications avec les citoyens, commerçants et organismes concernés par la construction du REM.

Restez informé

CDPQ Infra a tenu deux soirées portes ouvertes sur le projet de REM à Brossard en 2016. D’autres événements suivront.

Pour rester informé sur le projet et les initiatives à venir, rendez-vous sur le www.cdpqinfra.com, abonnez-vous à l’infolettre REM Express et suivez les pages Facebook et Twitter de CDPQ Infra.

Pour joindre directement le promoteur du projet, écrivez à questions@cdpqinfra.com ou composez le 514 847-2833.