Portrait

Quebec’s 12th-largest city, Brossard has over 87,000 residents. Its territory—covering an area of 42.5 km2, including 330 km of roads and 47 km of bicycle paths—is ideally situated along the St. Lawrence River in proximity to Montreal. It offers both high-quality municipal services and easy access to shopping and major highways (Autoroutes 10, 15, 30 and 132). Combined with its peaceful neighbourhoods and superb natural setting, Brossard’s many attractions make it the perfect place for individuals and families to flourish.

Thanks to its vibrant living environment and 57 different ethnic communities, Brossard has been named Quebec’s most multicultural city.

Demographic profile

Approximately 37% of the population comes from diverse cultural backgrounds, with the Asian community having a strong presence. Among the more than 86,000 residents, there are 57 different ethnic communities (according to MAMROT’s population decree for 2016). This distinctive feature of the City is without question an invaluable resource that contributes to its development.

During the most recent Census of population in 2011 (Statistics Canada), Brossard totalled 79,273 residents—an increase of 11.4% compared to 2006. The population density was estimated to be 1,753.9 people per square kilometre, based on the territory’s area of 45.2 km2. Brossard had a total of 30,999 private dwellings occupied by permanent residents. 

Brossard’s residents are educated people with a high graduation rate, resulting in a well-qualified, multilingual workforce that is highly attractive to employers. 

Evolution of population

  • 1958:   3,400 residents
  • 1968: 16,200 residents
  • 1978: 41,700 residents
  • 1988: 57,441 residents
  • 1998: 65,927 residents
  • 2008: 73,041 residents
  • 2010: 76,445 residents
  • 2012: 82,120 residents
  • 2014: 83,410 residents
  • 2016: 86,054 residents
  • 2017: 87, 215 residents

Ethnic Origins
2011 Canadian Census

 
Ethnic Origin Population (2011) Proportion
Chinese 9815 12,5 %
Black Canadian 3335 4,2 %
South Asian 3420 4,3 %
Arabic 3945 5,0 %
Southeast Asian 2710 3,4 %
Latin American 2475 3,1 %
West Asian 1770 2,2 %
Filipino 865 1,1 %
Other 1840 2,3 %
 

Mother Tongue
2006 Census of Population

Language Population Proportion
French only 35 505 50,19%
English only 8880 12,55%
English and French 575 0,81%
Other languages 25 770 36,43%

For more information about Brossard’s demographic profile, please visit the Statistics Canada website.

Brossard has completely transformed itself over the past few decades. This demographic, economic and social evolution has driven it to adapt to the changing realities of 21st century life. It has become a truly urban, contemporary and global-minded city.

Portrait

Douzième ville en importance au Québec, Brossard compte plus de 87 000 habitants. Son territoire d’une superficie de 42,5 km2, soit 330 km de rues et 47 km de pistes cyclables, possède une situation géographique enviable, en bordure du fleuve Saint-Laurent et à proximité de Montréal. La qualité des services municipaux offerts n’a d’égale que l’accessibilité des commerces et des grandes voies de circulation (autoroutes 10, 15, 30 et 132). Jumelés à la vie paisible de quartier et à un environnement naturel remarquable, ces nombreux attraits font de Brossard un milieu propice à l’épanouissement des individus et des familles.

Le rythme, le cadre de vie et la présence de 57 communautés culturelles ont permis à Brossard d’être nommée la ville la plus multiculturelle du Québec.

Profil démographique

Environ 37 % de la population provient de divers horizons culturels, avec une forte représentation de la communauté asiatique. Parmi plus de 86 000 habitants, on compte 57 communautés (selon le décret de population du MAMROT pour 2016). Il s’agit sans contredit d’un élément distinctif, mais aussi d’une richesse inestimable qui contribue à l’essor de la communauté.

Lors du dernier recensement de la population de 2011 (Statistique Canada), Brossard comptait 79 273 habitants, une hausse de 11,4 % par rapport à 2006. La densité de la population s’estimait à 1 753,9 personnes par kilomètre carré sur un territoire d’une superficie de 45,2 km2. Brossard comptait 30 999 logements privés occupés par des résidents permanents.

Les Brossardois et Brossardoises sont des gens scolarisés qui affichent un taux de diplomation élevé, ce qui en fait un bassin de main-d’œuvre qualifiée et multilingue très attrayant.

Évolution de la population

  • 1958 :   3 400 habitants
  • 1968 : 16 200 habitants
  • 1978 : 41 700 habitants
  • 1988 : 57 441 habitants
  • 1998 : 65 927 habitants
  • 2008 : 73 041 habitants
  • 2010 : 76 445 habitants
  • 2012 : 82 120 habitants
  • 2014 : 83 410 habitants
  • 2016 : 86 054 habitants
  • 2017 : 87 215 habitants

Origines ethniques
Recensement canadien de 2011

Origine ethnique Population (2011) Pourcentage
Chinois 9815 12,5 %
Afro-Américains 3335 4,2 %
Sud-Asiatiques 3420 4,3 %
Arabes 3945 5,0 %
Asiatiques du Sud-Est 2710 3,4 %
Latino Américains 2475 3,1 %
Asiatiques de l'Ouest 1770 2,2 %
Philippins 865 1,1 %
Autres 1840 2,3 %
 

Langue maternelle
Recensement canadien de 2006

Langue Population Pourcentage
Français seulement 35 505 50,19 %
Anglais seulement 8880 12,55 %
Anglais et français 575 0,81 %
Autres langues 25 770 36,43 %


Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le profil du recensement de Brossard, consultez le site Internet de Statistique Canada.

Brossard s’est profondément transformée au cours des dernières décennies. Cette évolution démographique, économique et sociale l’a incitée à s’adapter aux réalités changeantes du 21e siècle. Brossard est résolument une ville urbaine, contemporaine et ouverte sur le monde !